web analytics

Virtual Writers' WorldVirtual Writers World

Virtual Writers Inc.

Brand New Event on Twitter: Wordscrim Wednesday

Published on Tuesday, October 8, 2013 by

What is a #wordscrim?

A #wordscrim (word scrimmage) is an event in which participants write or type as fast as they can for a set time, with the aim of  increasing the word count on their current novel or work in progress. The participant who has written the most at the end of the scrimmage is declared the winner.

The event is held regularly on Twitter under the #wordscrim hashtag.

This word-boosting technique is also known as a word war or word sprint and is often used during NaNoWriMo and Script Frenzy.

What is #Wordscrim Wednesday?

This is our newest #wordscrim event, held every Wednesday throughout November. Writing sprints will begin on the hour and last for 30 minutes, for a full 12 hours. You get a 30 minute break between scrimmages; well, we wouldn’t want to wear you out ! You can use these breaks to edit previous scrims, grab a cup of tea or take a nap. Whatever you like.

We ask that you tweet your stats at the end of each sprint under the hashtag #wordscrim, so we can gather a lovely package of word counts to help encourage and spur everyone on.

Schedule –  12noon – 12midnight GMT/7am – 7pm Eastern Time (US)/4am – 4pm Pacific Time (US).

Please be aware that the clocks go back in the US on 3rd November and on 27th October in the UK.

Hosts:

12 – 1 pm GMT/7am EST @virtualwriters

1 – 2 pm GMT/8am EST @virtualwriters

2 – 3 pm GMT/9am EST @LizzieGudkov

3 – 4 pm GMT/10am EST @prompt_fairy

4 – 5 pm GMT/11am EST @TheSprintShack (Taylor Eaton)

5 – 6 pm GMT/12 Noon EST @TheSprintShack (Taylor Eaton)

6 – 7 pm GMT/1pm EST @virtualwriters

7 – 8 pm GMT/2pm EST @KillerKalen (Kalen Williamson)

8 – 9 pm GMT/3pm EST @TheSprintShack (Skye Fairwin)

9 – 10 pm GMT/4pm EST @prompt_fairy

10 – 11 pm GMT/5pm EST @nXgWVteacher (Whitney Healy)

11 – 12 pm GMT/6pm EST @TheSprintShack (Cristina Guarino)

When do the official #Wordscrim Wednesday sprints occur?

Wednesday 30 October, 2013 and every Wednesday throughout November. If they prove popular we may consider continuing the event beyond November.

Do I have to do the whole 12 hours?

Good heavens, no; but you can if you want.

What if I only manage one sprint?

That’s fine. You can do as little or as much as you want.

Do you have any other regular #wordscrim sprints?

Yes, we have a daily #wordscrim at 10 – 10:30 pm  GMT/ 5 – 5:30 pm Eastern Time.

Can I use the #wordscrim hashtag at other times?

Yes, you can organise your own #wordscrim sprints whenever you like.

One Response
Have Your Say
Your Name ↓
Your Email ↓
Your Website ↓
Tell us what you think of this story ↓
You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Follow Us!
Twitter icon Facebook icon Google+ icon
Welcome to Virtual Writers’ World
Welcome to Virtual Writers, first established in 2007. Here we learn to experiment with digital and virtual world platforms to push the creative envelope and develop a strong, unique voice.
Subscribe
Subscribe to our RSS feed and get site updates delivered immediately.
500 Word Snatch Challenge
Featured Authors
Torn Fields – war poets 1914-1918
Hypatia Pickens at The Blue Angel
Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Virtual Inspiration
Disclosure
Virtual Writers is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.