web analytics

Virtual Writers' WorldVirtual Writers World

Virtual Writers Inc.

NaNoWriMo: Workshops, Write-ins & Word Wars

Published on Thursday, October 24, 2013 by
Cartoon used with the permission of Debbie Ridpath Ohi at Inkygirl.com

Cartoon used with the permission of Debbie Ridpath Ohi at Inkygirl.com

November is just around the corner and that can only mean one thing – that crazy literary marathon known as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), where the sane lose their minds and attempt to pen a novel in 30 days. Yes, you did hear that right. If you have always wanted to write a novel – and enjoy a challenge that puts you up against the clock – then join us and take time by the forelock.

As always, we at Virtual Writers, Inc. like to crack the whip…ahem encourage writers, by offering a veritable calendar of delights – regular word scrimmages, write-ins, as well as inspirational workshops, talks and articles from successful authors.

To help you over the initial hurdle we have gathered some useful outlining resources from various online sources. Feel free to share them with other participants.

For more great comics check out Inkygirl’s amazing site and the NaNotoons Facebook page.

Virtual Events

We have some wonderful events planned for this year’s National Novel Writing Month. Join our Second Life® group Milk Wood Wrimos for event reminders and follow us on Twitter for daily tips – you’ll find lots of great links under the hashtag #virtualwrimos. If you want to talk shop with other Wrimos then you’ll love our NaNoWriMo discussion group on Goodreads.

Virtual Workshops

We are thrilled to announce that we will be hosting a wonderful selection of online workshops from successfully published NaNo authors (both independently and via the traditional route). 

“IT WAS A DARK AND STORMY NIGHT: WRITING WITHOUT THINKING DURING NANOWRIMO” with Huckleberry Hax – Friday 25th October at 3pm PST /11pm BST http://ow.ly/eVHO3 (free workshop)

“RECORDING/PODCASTING YOUR WRITING & FIRST PERSON POV EXERCISES” with Arlene Radasky – Wednesday 6th November at 4pm Pacific Time/Midnight GMT http://ow.ly/eVHO3 (free workshop)

“CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT: QUESTIONING YOUR CHARACTERS” with Diana HunterSunday 10th November at 3pm Pacific Time/11pm GMT  http://ow.ly/eVHO3 (free workshop)

PLEASE NOTE: character development workshop series to be postpone until the New Year 5 -Part Writing Workshop “WHO WILL TELL YOUR STORY? – CHARACTER DRIVEN PLOTTING” with Sharon Clare – Friday 15th, 22nd  & 29th November and 6th & 13th December at 1pm Pacific Time/9pm GMT Register Here For Who Will Tell Your Story Workshops ($15 for full course. Limited places available) http://ow.ly/eVHO3

These workshops are held in Second Life®. For details on how you can participate check out the following article.

Wordscrim Wednesday (on Twitter)

This is our newest #wordscrim (aka word scrimmage) event, held every Wednesday throughout November. Writing sprints will begin on the hour and last for 30 minutes, for a full 12 hours. You get a 30 minute break between scrimmages; well, we wouldn’t want to wear you out ! You can use these breaks to edit previous scrims, grab a cup of tea or take a nap. Whatever you like.

We ask that you tweet your stats at the end of each sprint under the hashtag #wordscrim, so we can gather a lovely package of word counts to help encourage and spur everyone on.

Schedule *begins Wednesday 30th October and continues every Wednesday throughout November

UK: 12noon – 12midnight GMT

US: 7am – 7pm Eastern Time/4am – 4pm Pacific Time

Please be aware that the clocks go back in the US on 3rd November and on 27th October in the UK.

For more details check out the following FAQs.

Daily 30 Minute Wordscrim (on Twitter)

Every day at  10pm GMT/5pm Eastern time/2pm Pacific time

For more details check out the following FAQs.

NaNoWriMo on Second Life®

If you haven’t had the opportunity to visit our simulator in Second Life® then make some time this November. You’ll find an incredibly diverse and active community of writers and the level of support is second to none.

Our Second Life® NaNoWriMo word meter will be up and working on the 1st at our virtual writers’ camp. You will need to join our Milk Wood Wrimos group in order to obtain a NaNoWriMo participant badge (displays your overall word count above your avatar head). To update your word count each day you must put your daily count into the main display which in turn will update your Second Life® participant badge. You will still need to verify your overall word count at the end of November on the main nanowrimo.org website as this is separate from our system.

When you drop by the writers’ camp in Second Life® be sure to pick up the free goodie bag for virtual Wrimos.

Scheduled Write-Ins (please be aware that the clocks go back in the US on 3rd November and on 27th October in the UK and we go by Pacific Time in Second Life®)

Friday 25th October: 2pm Pacific time/5pm Eastern time/10pm BST: Pre-NaNo Prep Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Saturday (throughout November): 12 Noon – 2pm Pacific Time/3pm – 5pm Eastern time/8pm GMT – 10 pm GMT: 2 Hour NaNoWriMo Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Sunday (throughout November): 12 Noon – 2pm Pacific Time/3pm – 5pm Eastern time/8pm GMT – 10 pm GMT: 2 Hour NaNoWriMo Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Please note we also have a twice-daily Writers’ Dash running every Monday-Friday. This is often used by Wrimos to work on their novels.

Please feel free to visit Milk Wood and take a wander through our beautiful woodlands and meadows. Our virtual writers’ cottages are for rent; we currently have two large properties available and various small writers’ cabins. We also have several well-positioned stalls at the Dead Wood Book Fayre. Your books can be displayed and  linked to your online bookseller or author’s website, allowing instant purchase from many outlets. If you need help with creating a Second Life® version of your book, please email us using the contact form on this website.

If you’d like information on connecting to Second Life® so you can attend some of our events, then please check out the following article.

Have Your Say
Your Name ↓
Your Email ↓
Your Website ↓
Tell us what you think of this story ↓
You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Follow Us!
Twitter icon Facebook icon Google+ icon
Welcome to Virtual Writers’ World
Welcome to Virtual Writers, first established in 2007. Here we learn to experiment with digital and virtual world platforms to push the creative envelope and develop a strong, unique voice.
Subscribe
Subscribe to our RSS feed and get site updates delivered immediately.
500 Word Snatch Challenge
Featured Authors
Torn Fields – war poets 1914-1918
Hypatia Pickens at The Blue Angel
Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Virtual Inspiration
Disclosure
Virtual Writers is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.