web analytics

Virtual Writers' WorldVirtual Writers World

Virtual Writers Inc.

Virtual NaNoWriMo Events for 2014

Published on Saturday, October 25, 2014 by

Nano_badge_2014November is just around the corner and that can only mean one thing – that crazy literary marathon known as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), where the sane lose their minds and attempt to pen a novel in 30 days.

As always, we at Virtual Writers like to crack the whip…ahem encourage writers, by offering a veritable calendar of delights – word scrimmages, write-ins, as well as inspirational workshops, talks and articles from successful authors.

Virtual Events

We have some wonderful events planned for this year’s National Novel Writing Month. Join our Second Life® group Milk Wood Wrimos for event reminders and follow us on Twitter for daily tips – you’ll find lots of great links under the hashtag #virtualwrimos. If you want to talk shop with other wrimos then you’ll love our NaNoWriMo discussion group on Goodreads.

Virtual Workshops

We are thrilled to announce that we will be hosting a selection of free online workshops from successfully published authors. To participate in the workshops click on link at the specific time.

Thursday 30th October, 2014

2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/9pm GMT: A Pinch Will Do You – Creating Vivid Scenes with Few Words with Arlene Radasky http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Wednesday 5th November, 2014

2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/10pm GMT 5 Secrets For Completing Your NaNo Novel with Huck Hax http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Friday 7th November, 2014

11am Pacific Time/2pm Eastern Time/7pm GMT: How to Make Your Characters Real – Not Cardboard Cut Outs with Emerian Rich http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Sunday 9th November, 2014

2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/10pm GMT Building the World of Your Novel with Diana Hunter http://ow.ly/eVHO3

These workshops are held in Second Life®. For details on how you can participate check out the following article.

Wordscrim Wednesday (on Twitter)

Held every Wednesday throughout November on Twitter. Each sprint will begin on the hour and last for 30 minutes. Look out for the start and end tweets under the hashtag #wordscrim.

To help encourage and spur everyone on, we ask that you tweet your stats at the end of each sprint under #wordscrim.

NB. A #wordscrim (word scrimmage) is an event in which participants write or type as fast as they can for a set time, with the aim of increasing the word count on their current novel or work in progress. The participant who has written the most at the end of the scrimmage is declared the winner.

Schedule *begins Wednesday 29th October and continues every Wednesday throughout November

Host Lizzie Gudkov (@LizzieGudkov): 2pm – 3pm GMT (9am – 10am Eastern Time)

Hosts Virtual Writers (@VirtualWriters): 3pm – 5pm GMT (10am – 12 noon Eastern Time)

Host Kalen Williamson (@KillerKalen): 6pm – 7pm GMT (1pm – 2pm Eastern Time)

Host NaNo Pals (@NaNoPals): 7pm – 9pm GMT (2pm – 4pm Eastern Time)

Host Prompt Fairy (@Prompt_Fairy): 9pm – 10pm GMT (4pm – 5pm Eastern Time)

Host Skye Fairwin (@TheSprintShack): 10pm – 11pm GMT ( 5pm – 6pm Eastern Time)

Please be aware that the clocks go back in the US on 2nd November and on 26th October in the UK.

NaNoWriMo in Second Life®

If you haven’t had the opportunity to visit our sim in Second Life® then make some time this November. You’ll find an incredibly diverse and active community of writers and the level of support is second to none.

Our Second Life® NaNoWriMo word meter will be up and working on the 1st at our virtual writers’ camp. You will need to join our Milk Wood Wrimos group in order to obtain a NaNoWriMo participant badge (displays your overall word count above your avatar head). To update your word count each day you must put your daily count into the main display which in turn will update your Second Life® participant badge. You will still need to verify your overall word count at the end of November on the main nanowrimo.org website as this is separate from our system.

When you drop by the writers’ camp in Second Life® be sure to pick up the free goodie bag for virtual Wrimos.

Scheduled Write-Ins (please be aware that the clocks go back in the US on 2nd November and on 26th October in the UK and we go by Pacific Time in Second Life®):

Saturday 25th October, 2014

2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/10pm BST: NaNo Prep Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Friday 31st October, 2014

3pm Pacific Time/6pm Eastern Time/10pm GMT: NaNoWriMo Kick-Off Party in Second Life (meet your fellow Wrimos). Come dressed as your favourite fictional character – prize for the best costume. http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Monday 1st December, 2014

2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/10pm GMT: NaNoWriMo TGIO Party in Second Life – time to regroup, celebrate our success and discuss how we can move forward with our novels. Links to possible literary agents and publishers will be supplied. http://ow.ly/eVHO3

General Write-Ins

Saturday (throughout November): 12 Noon – 2pm Pacific Time/3pm – 5pm Eastern Time/8pm – 10 pm GMT: 2 Hour NaNoWriMo Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Sunday (throughout November): 12 Noon – 2pm Pacific Time/3pm – 5pm Eastern Time/8pm – 10 pm GMT: 2 Hour NaNoWriMo Write-in http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Please note we also have a twice-daily Writers’ Dash running every Monday-Friday (6am & 6pm Pacific Time) and a 500 Word Snatch on Saturday at 12 noon Pacific Time. These are often used by Wrimos to work on their novels. http://ow.ly/eVHO3

Please feel free to visit Milk Wood and take a wander through our beautiful woodlands and meadows. Our virtual writers’ cottages are for rent; we currently have two large properties available and various small writers’ cabins. These are always very popular for those seeking an online base in an active writing community. We also have several well-positioned stalls at the Dead Wood Book Fayre. Your books can be displayed and linked to your online bookseller or author’s website, allowing instant purchase from many outlets. If you need help with creating a Second Life® version of your book, please email us using the contact form on this website.

If you’d like information on connecting to Second Life® so you can attend some of our events, then please check out the following article.

Saturday 25th October, 2014
2pm Pacific Time/5pm Eastern Time/10pm BST: NaNo Prep Write-in
Have Your Say
Your Name ↓
Your Email ↓
Your Website ↓
Tell us what you think of this story ↓
You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Follow Us!
Twitter icon Facebook icon Google+ icon
Welcome to Virtual Writers’ World
Welcome to Virtual Writers, first established in 2007. Here we learn to experiment with digital and virtual world platforms to push the creative envelope and develop a strong, unique voice.
Subscribe
Subscribe to our RSS feed and get site updates delivered immediately.
500 Word Snatch Challenge
Featured Authors
Torn Fields – war poets 1914-1918
Hypatia Pickens at The Blue Angel
Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Virtual Inspiration
Disclosure
Virtual Writers is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.